The Baker Bot’s Annual Christmas Quagmire

Every year for Christmas I bake cookies for my friends and family. It started off with just baking the chocolate chip cookie recipe that I’d been baking since I was eight. Then I upped my offerings and added in Snowball cookies, the recipe for which I found, oddly enough, in my December 1998 Seventeen magazine. Shortly after moving back home to Canada my Mom bought me the Insane Cookie Extravaganza edition of Martha Stewart Living, and well, I’ve gone a little batshit. How can I NOT bake EVERY SINGLE recipe ever? Frankly, it’s pretty much impossible. So now I need to cut down my list: Pick the cookies.

It’s the hardest thing I do each year.

 

Last year I baked:

Daryl’s F-You Triple Chocolate Chunk Cookies

Snowball Cookies

Gingerbread Unicorns

Mint Chocolate Sandwich Hearts

White Chocolate Sandwiches

Peanut Butter Surprises

Stained Glass Window Cookies

Chocolate Crackles

Oatmeal Applesauce Drizzle cookies

Raspberry Shortbread Bars

My Mom’s Chocolate Shortbread

Icebox Cookies

 

Yeah, maybe this year I’ll pare it down a little? Or maybe I’ll just add more? It’s so tough! I’ve had requests for something lemon-y and something with nuts. And I want to do chocolate dipped red velvet cake balls! I’m thinking I’m going to personalise my cookie boxes more this year. Instead of cramming a few of everything in each person’s box, everyone will have their box tailored just for them!

I guess I’ll start making and freezing excessive amounts of cookie dough this weekend!

So many cookies, so little freezer space!

 

4 Comments

Filed under Foods

4 responses to “The Baker Bot’s Annual Christmas Quagmire

  1. Devin

    Yummmmmmm those all sound amazing. I love cookies.

  2. Devin

    oh and i hope you get to use your cupcake oven mitts!! 😀

  3. Lauren

    I know I say this every year BUT this year I’m going to take pictures and keep a cookie log so that next year when this quandry crops up I will have more identifiable requests beyond: the really amazing ones that made me swoon and snowballs, lots of the snowballs.

Leave a Reply

